So let me start out by saying that if I wasn’t sure before, I am now positive that I have crossed the threshold into complete nerdom.  Tonight I learned to play Cthulhu.  And I loved it.

So now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I’d like to comment that many of my friends may not have known I am a huge nerd.  I mean, aside from reading Harry Potter (and who didn’t?) and loving (okay being obsessed with) math and playing in the band (but not the one you had to audition for and definitely not marching band, the band for us slackers basically) I wasn’t really that obviously nerdy.  I mean, okay, I was in youth group and spent most of my free time at the church, but that was sort of cool.  And I suppose I should mention that I was a cheerleader.  Not a typical one once I reached high school, but I was pretty much a girly-girl (and yeah, in 2nd grade five of my friends and I called ourselves “the girly-girls”, but hey, we were 8).

In college I sort of embraced my inner nerd with the help of a TON of my friends, especially (B) and my close friend and ex-boyfriend Bruce Banner (He chose this alias which I find quite fitting actually).  For the more recent events in nerdom, I blame him.  Bruce and some of our other friends and I get together occasionally for “nerd nights” which recently typically meant playing Dominion, but could also be a variety of games like Risk, or Magic Cards, or just video games or nerdy shows like BBT or movies like XMen.  So tonight when I was invited for a nerd night at Peter Parker’s, I figured Dominion.  [I’d like to insert here that my mom can now tell where I am going by what I am wearing, aka my “nerd shirts” which tonight consisted of my Wonder Woman shirt.  But, you know, Wonder Woman isn’t that nerdy…she’s pretty bada$$.  AND she wears a tiara (that is also a weapon!) so she automatically gets my vote.] When I got there, we actually started by playing Mario on the wii (actually not that nerdy for us) which I thought I had never played, but actually ended up being the same game my apartmentmates and I played all year our senior year.  I did get made fun of a lot for thinking I had never played it and for “having a lame childhood” (“what did you do as a child?”  “I played outside”).  [let me just add that these are also the same people I play sports with on occasion…we are such well-rounded friends 😉 ] Well after Bruce failed at playing anything as a team, we decided to play another team game (silly logic, but it actually worked) and that was when MJ and I learned Cthulhu.  It was pretty intense and the rule book was 23 pages long so I’m not sure any of us actually knew everything.  And to make a long story short (“TOO LATE!” –sorry, Clue reference and I said Cthulhu reminded me of a hyped up version of Clue on crack…) we played until 1AM and then decided to go into the end where you fight the big boss or whatever (which took another 50 minutes).  We somehow won.  Probably because we’re awesome.

Anywho, when it was time to go I held out my arms for hugs.  Bruce commented that he wanted to see how long I’d stand there like that, to which I responded that I was waiting for a group hug.  And the best thing about all my friends is that they were in no way afraid to come in for one (Except Logan, he hesitated a little which ultimately led to his downfall…).  Even if it ended in some accidental male inappropriate touching that left Bruce wanting to wash his hand with bleach and Logan feeling violated.  Totally made my night and I left in a fit of giggles.

So now it’s official and out on the internets for all the world to see.  I. AM. A. HUGE. NERD.

The End.

*Zoey* aka Wonder Woman

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

2 responses »

  1. Zoey Nova says:

    I meant to add that someone made the mistake of giving me throwback mtn dew…two cans…which have the effect on me that they would on a 5-year-old and now I can’t sleepp! Getting up for mass tomorrow is not going to be easy…evening mass anyone?
    HYPER!!!!!
    *z*

  2. […] Woman when I grow up, and oh yeah, did I mention Wonder Woman had a huge role in this blog? See my second ever post that helped to frame this blog, take a look at my cover photo, and then look at this post from last […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

