Ah! I can’t believe I forgot about this blog and how ridiculously awesome it was (to me, anyway). I found myself really missing my nerdy friends recently that I used to spend way more time with and now never get to see. This was particularly evident when I was all like “who is going to go see Apocalypse with me?!”

BUT I have other nerd friends and they are pretty awesome too. So awesome, in fact, they accompanied me to my first con this past weekend!! If you’re interested in hearing more about that you can check their blogs out here or here. I went as closet cosplay Wonder Woman (obvi), Cinderella at the beginning of the movie, and then Rogue!!

On Saturday we went to a Wonder Woman panel talking about the progression of women in comics and media and women in general. The more we talked about Wonder Woman, the more I thought about drawing her. She has gone through many phases but I really wanted to make her strong and actually look like an Amazon. I left feeling inspired to start drawing. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my sketch book with me (something that I will definitely remedy next time I go to a con, and yes, there will be a next time). This gave me an opportunity, however, to buy a new sketch book when I got home exclusively for comic related things. I may post some pics of my sketches if I can figure out the whole watermark thing…

So anyway, that day was pretty awesome because all three of us dressed up as some form of Disney princesses and had a blast. We had our very own princess and pirates party with Main Deck Productions which also helped raise money for The Pediatric Cancer Foundation of the Lehigh Valley so it was totally great.

IMG_20160514_101527474_HDR

Ahoy Mateys! Pirate & Princesses

I was initially on the fence about my Rogue costume because I was super excited about it (started planning for it in January) and got all the pieces and put them together but I wasn’t done. I ran out of time to actually sew what I wanted to sew, add certain details…it was recognizable as Rogue, but it wasn’t perfect. The thing is, I was comparing it to every Rogue costume I saw online and thinking “yeah, mine is not as good as that”. IMG_20160513_110857632_HDRSo I was feeling insecure about that as well as not having lost as much weight as I had wanted by this time (I wanted to be down like 3 more lbs) and there was one more thing and all those combined I was like “maybe…?” So I didn’t do my original Wonder Woman costume for a lot of the same reasons and did a closet cosplay instead (–>)  and had packed an alternative for if I chickened out about my Rogue costume (it was a wolverine closet cosplay). On Friday, though, Kristi realized the announcer was someone who used to announce at her races and so we went over and introduced ourselves to him. We started talking about what we were dressing up as and when I told him I was thinking of doing Rogue for Sunday he was like “I brought my Gambit!” So at that point it was settled that I would have to do Rogue and he would do Gambit. I think my internal “I can’t disappoint someone by changing my mind about something I said I would do” came into play here and that was that. Of course, there was the whole “I hope he actually is able to do Gambit because that would be really cool and I would probably be disappointed if he didn’t” thing because I guess I’m used to people backing out on things but guess what? He did dress as Gambit and we got a few pictures which was awesome!

IMG_20160515_104548614_HDR

Rogue & Gambit cosplay

 

Also, as I dressed in my leotard/body suit outfit thing I did start to understand one thing that one of the professional cosplayers at the Wonder Woman panel said that struck me as strange at the time but (to paraphrase) she said “when I’m just me I’m shy and then in costume you just gain the confidence”. So maybe that’s not exactly what she said, but that’s what I interpreted it as. For once I wasn’t nervous about what people would think or say or how they would react (it helped that it was a place where pretty much everyone was doing it) and I felt so confident. I was proud of how I looked and how I put everything together and didn’t even think about being self-conscious like I usually am.

So now I am looking forward to next time when my costumes will be even better because I will have time to actually get some more sewing done and I will also be bringing my new sketch book and perhaps you (the hypothetical readers of my blog) will get to see some of my sketches eventually.

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

3 responses »

  1. […] my second ever post that helped to frame this blog, take a look at my cover photo, and then look at this post from last year that actually kick-started this blog after it lay dormant for almost 4 years. They all have a […]

  2. […] incorporate Rogue into my name because I’ve been working on my Rogue cosplay (seen previously here) and was anticipating many more X-Men posts than has been the case thus far. I chose Princess […]

  3. […] wrote more about it here, so I don’t think it needs too much detail, but here are some pictures from the two cons […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

