…High School Never Ends!

If you have never heard this song by Bowling for Soup, you should (the video may be a little gross though…fyi). When it came out I was pretty much already obsessed with them but it was definitely one of my favorites. So I’ve been thinking a lot about that lately, high school, I mean, and I’ve been wondering what really has changed. I mean, besides three degrees and a job, what is the difference between me when I was in high school and me now? Well, apparently not much…

I woke up this morning in the same bed I woke up in ten years ago, in my parents’ house. I’ll be moving out in August (just like ten years ago when I moved out to go to college) and will be starting the next chapter of my life. Even the date is the same. August 27, 2006 was my first day of college. August 27, 2016 is my wedding. So now, my curiosity about total differences is peaked and I decided to make a comparison list:

  • In 2006 I used to wake up early and shower in the morning, now I shower at night
  • I still wear my glasses every day but at least now (since 2007) I have the option of wearing contacts
  • In 2006 typical dress was a t-shirt and jeans, now it’s pretty much the same
  • In 2006 I accessorized with a watch, 3 bracelets, 2 hair ties, 3 rings, and my necklace. Now I wear my watch, 2 bracelets, a hair tie, 2 rings, my necklace, and 3 earrings
  • I still use a sonicare electric toothbrush (new brush, obviously) and sensodyne toothpaste
  • I no longer have braces but I do still wear my retainer every night
  • my hair is still way too crazy but instead of braiding it in two braids like I did occasionally in 2006, I now do only one side braid. I also part my hair on the side now instead of in the middle.

    Hair

    I thought I was so cool…

  • In 2006 I made my lunch because the lines in the school cafeteria were always too long for anything good. Now I make my lunch because there’s never anything good at work.
  • In 2006 I drove to school in my 2003 black Nissan Sentra. Today, I drive to work in my 2003 black Nissan Sentra.

See? Totally different. Haha well I guess some things are similar but there are bound to be circumstances such as these in life. Ah life…Anyway, I wanted to get this post up today because it’s 06/06/16 and ten years ago it was 06/06/06 and even though at that point I was already in Senior Society and no longer actually at the high school, it was still pretty significant as a member of the class of 2006 😉

More pictures to come!

❤ *JuLi*

 

“And I still don’t have the right look

And I still have the same three friends

And I’m pretty much the same as I was back then

High school never ends

High school never ends

High school never ends

And here we go again…”

 

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

