Last September I took a trip to Walt Disney World with my sister right around her birthday (full story here). She was in a conference for work when I arrived which gave me the perfect opportunity to set up her birthday surprise!

While I’m the one who likes to dress up to match an occasion, I really wanted to do something special for her on this trip. I’m sure she’d claim it as goofy, but when I ordered my shirt for my trip to Disneyland she seemed a little like she wanted one too so I made a decision to get us coordinating outfits. I had already planned my outfit and planned to order us matching shirts from Etsy so I just ordered her the same other outfit pieces as myself.

The shirts I fell in love with were these adorable tanks from Etsy shop AudrasFootprint that say “Powered By Fairydust And Wine”. I knew we would possibly be drinking around the world in Epcot and we really wanted to do the Wine Walk so I thought the saying was adorable. There were a few shops out there with similar shirts but I chose these because of the gold writing which made them special. Also, the year I was Peter Pan for Halloween my sister was Tinker Bell and tried to fly so I knew she had a special place in her heart for fairies 😉

I had already ordered my ears from EnchantedDust on Etsy because I have a love hate relationship with headbands and loved the ear clips they offer! After a long day in the parks the last thing I want is a headache from a too-tight headband so these ear clips are my new favorite thing. I chose pink for myself because my Minnie Mouse Vans (which I bought before my 2015 trip and are the best park shoes I could have ever asked for) have Minnie with pink and I like to coordinate. Since I didn’t want my sister and I to be exactly similar, I decided to go red for her.

I made the same decisions when ordering the skirts. Pink for me, red for Jenn, and I got those on Amazon. I completed the look with some white exercise shorts since we would be going on rides and didn’t need to worry about skirts blowing up and the like. I wasn’t sure my sister would go for the skirt since I didn’t know how she would feel about the matching outfits in general so I also brought my red shorts for her to borrow if she decided not to go for the skirt.

I was so nervous it wouldn’t all arrive before I left but arrive it did! I packed it all in my bag and, while Jenn was in her conference, laid it out nicely on her bed. I even ran down to the front desk to get a Birthday pin for her!

20160909121046

I’m pretty darn proud of how the look came together and happy that my sister played along. We got quite a few compliments on the outfits (especially the shirts) and it was well worth it to dress up for the parks!

20160910130505

Note: I added my Disney Vans, pink polka dot socks I found at WalMart, and my pink polka dot high-waisted bathing suit because I always wear a bathing suit in the parks in case of water rides (lookin’ at you, Splash Mountain). We also sported those ankle bracelets which are actually bug bracelets to ward off mosquitoes (classy).

ALSO, we both wore the outfits again around Halloween (separately) so it wasn’t even a waste for an outfit we would only wear once (I have trouble sometimes remembering to buy things I will want to wear more than once…although this outfit I wore quite a few times, but I wasn’t sure about Jenn)

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

One response »

  1. […] In honor of his birthday, I’ve decided to use Donald as inspiration for #FashionFriday (which I haven’t done in what feels like forever but you can check out some of the previous posts here and here and here). […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

