My Disney trip in 2007 was with my Scranton Cheerleading team. I was a little freshman and it was the first time our squad had ever been to UCA Nationals. We were extremely excited; we did fund-raising and had t-shirts made (one was a sponsor t-shirt that I was a little embarrassed of freshmen year since my grandma and my parents were at the top but now I find it pretty hilarious) and we practiced like crazy. Since Nationals were in January and we were on Winter Break we actually had to stay around campus the week after Fall Semester Finals ended for practices every day (it might have been twice a day, I can’t remember since it was 10 years ago now). I stayed at one of the junior girls’ houses off campus because we didn’t get approval to stay in the dorms. It was pretty fun and we did have a blast all together before leaving for Christmas.

For Christmas, my aunt and uncle got me the tool that was going to help with this trip the most: the Birnbaum’s 2007 Walt Disney World guidebook!

We were back on campus basically January 1st. We practiced all month before leaving for Florida. Since we left out of the airport near my house, I did get to go home first and my dad drove me to the airport.

The airport was ridiculous with us cheering and being all kinds of obnoxious and goofy and really, there are no words…

1928832_506951503268_5820_n

having trouble deciding if we are purple or white…

On the plane and the bus to the resort, myself and three other girls meticulously planned our time in the parks. We flagged pages with the park maps and one day schedules so we could maximize our park time. We chose the things we absolutely had to do and planned it all out. We also figured out the park times and made our schedule based on what was open earliest and latest.

1928832_506951553168_4853_n

our arrival at MCO

This was it: it was exciting, an adventure, and we would be in a national competition! That might have been the best part for most of us. We were staying in the All-Star Resort like most teams and there was stunting and practicing going on all over the place (as I described last week)!

1928832_506951558158_5447_n

We spent the first day practicing and making sure we were ready for competition and then going to Downtown Disney for our team dinner at Planet Hollywood.

Saturday was dedicated to competition and since it was my first College Nationals it was a brand new experience for me and so exciting.

After competition we changed into our Sponsor shirts and went over to the Magic Kingdom for the evening/night!

Of course we got that stunting/castle pic –

and then we got on some rides as a team – Space Mountain, Thunder Mountain, and Pirates of Caribbean being the ones I remember most 🙂

The next morning we put that guidebook to use – arriving at Hollywood Studios right at opening! We ran directly to Tower of Terror going straight on and then picking up a fast pass to return to it after going on Rockin’ Roller Coaster. Then we hung out with my pals Mickey and Pluto before saying hi to Tigger too!

Next we ran over to Epcot and enjoyed Future World (particularly the photo booths there) and the World Showcase.

At the World Showcase we ran into our coaches and the seniors drinking around the world and we decided to take some pictures with them (they wanted to stunt).

it’s plenty safe – our coaches are spotting…

By the end of the day we needed to go back and change for the Block Party at Animal Kingdom. I remember hanging out in one of the rooms beforehand having a pre-party party and then heading over!

1923258_504178355678_854_n

We danced and had fun but then there was a bit of drama so we decided to cut the night sort of short and head back to the hotel to go to bed.

The next day we had to say “see ya later” and head home.

1928841_507426461448_7015_n

I’ve always been pretty Goofy… 😛

 

Our Favorites:  My favorites for this trip was all the character meets! I feel like we got to do so many during this short trip and it was so fun! It was also my first time to Disney in almost 7 years so it was a blast to just explore and have fun with my friends.

Food: Again I don’t really remember specifically what I ate this trip so this is hard but I do remember some of my team seriously wanting turkey legs when we were all in the Magic Kingdom (even though I wasn’t one of them) so this was maybe the most memorable food moment from the trip.

Haul: I took home from this trip a Nationals t-shirt, Nationals drawstring backpack, Disney frame, and this pin –

Pins:

I went pretty basic with this 2007 pin but it was perfect for this trip after not having been to Disney in 7 years and wanting something to look back on this trip by.

🙂

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

One response »

  1. […] of November but I haven’t been back that month since. I’ve been in December, July, January, January again, October, and September. I will eventually get to go in the spring months (which is […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

