The only time I’ve ever been to Disney in the summer was in 2000. I was 12 and Jenn was almost 10. We did both Disney and Universal, we rented a car, we stayed off property at my grandma’s friend’s timeshare, and we brought my grandma.

I will preface this by saying I know we have a ton of pictures I haven’t been able to locate so if I do find them I will update this post. Since Animal Kingdom opened in 1998, this was our first visit to that park. I remember meeting safari-themed Mickey and Minnie. I know Grandma’s favorite was going on the safari. My grandma didn’t do a lot of rides, I mostly have memories of her holding our bags and looking for her straw hat when we got off the rides to find her. She made friends with other people waiting for their families which was always interesting. I remember she was talking to this one man when we got off Splash Mountain and we couldn’t find her for a few moments.

This was maybe the only time my whole family ever wore matching shirts and it was great. I will update this with the picture as soon as possible.

We did have to sit through a time share talk one morning and my sister and I were bored out of our minds. I think we went to Animal Kingdom after that. I remember hating the Bugs Life show because bugs were everywhere – feet, back, so creepy! My sister always loved these shows because she was never tall enough to touch her feet to the ground so it didn’t bother her as much. Aside from that and the safari I’m not sure we did much else in Animal Kingdom. I really can’t remember.

Our family favorite was definitely MGM. My dad got chosen to join one of the street shows as the mayor maybe? I don’t remember but here’s a picture. If anyone has info about this street show let me know in the comments.

DadMGM

We did Tower of Terror and rode Rockin’ Roller Coaster for the first time. One of my favorites was the Great Movie Ride. My sister’s favorite was the Backlot Tour. I know we did that and Muppets 3-D. We always ate lunch at Pizza Planet. We were Singin’ In the Rain (another favorite of ours).

SingingInTheRain

Look at Jenn trying to reach :’-D

We then met up with some family friends who were traveling to Disney at the same time as us and ate dinner together at the Sci-Fi Cafe and then went to Fantasmic!

SciFiCafe

This was pretty cool because it’s always fun to meet up with other people in the parks – especially when you’ve been with the same people for too long, new people usually help diffuse a situation (lol).

Oh gosh I just saw that spray bottle in the picture and I remember we had them to keep cool in all the parks — so needed. It was HOT (July).

Sci-Fi Cafe is super cool. I haven’t been back since 2000 but I remember how much fun it was pretending to be at a Drive-In and seeing clips from older movies. It was a blast and I recommend it.

Family picture on the ferry from the Ticket and Transportation Center

At Magic Kingdom, like I said, we did Splash Mountian (one of my favorites) and then found Gram. We rode Thunder Mountain and Space Mountain as well. My dad and Jenn did Alien Encounter – I think I chickened out in line. Gram’s favorite was definitely It’s A Small World or the Carousel. I remember her being so excited about Small World. I also think she did Haunted Mansion with us because she said her mom did Haunted Mansion and it wasn’t too scary.
Scan0002 - Copy

We did the Hoop-Dee-Doo Revue – one of my all time favorite dinner shows. This was our second time and both times were just so much fun (we looked into doing it again in 2012 but it is WAY more expensive when you have 4 adults and 2 of them hadn’t started working full time yet)! Here’s a picture of us that is a magnet on my parents’ fridge:

I need everyone to note these shoes I’m wearing^ I called them my theme park shoes and wore them for a good 10-12 years. I’m not even ashamed. Go check out my 2007 post if you don’t believe me LOL

Epcot is my favorite park, but as a kid I didn’t give it much love. We did the masks where you got it stamped at all the countries and got to color it. The primary color for mine was green (no surprise there). We loved Maelstrom in Norway (RIP) and definitely rode that. I’m sure we also rode Ellen’s Energy Adventure because that is one of my favorites too. We tried to do Test Track but the line was FOREVER so we grabbed a Fast Pass for it for the very end of the night but then when we got back the Fast Pass line was huge and we didn’t get to go.

Since this trip was also a Universal trip, I have to talk about that as well. This was our first time at Universal and some of it is pretty fresh in my mind since I’ve only been there twice and once was much more recently. Universal Studios was a lot of fun but Jenn was still a little short for a lot of the bigger rides there. Dueling Dragons was one of them but I remember going on it with my dad and it being one of my favorite rides this trip. We were on Ice. My sister had been begging for a hair wrap (it was 2000, come on) and my mom finally gave in when she felt bad Jenn couldn’t get on Dueling Dragons so when I got off I got to get one too. Mine was different shades of blue. We took fun pictures…

IMG_20170412_230338~2

We went on the Men In Black ride and I remember being scared at first but they made me do it and it was fun. We also went on Twister which was actually scary (I was 12 and scared of a lot).

We got some character photos

One of the highlights of Universal Studios was Nickelodeon Studios! I remember we got to go to one of the studio shows and I got picked to do something which was super cool. I can’t remember what it was but I’m sure Jenn remembers. I think she was mad I got picked and not her. Nickelodeon Studios was pretty much everything we loved in the year 2000 since we were 100% Nickelodeon kids. The show wasn’t on TV but it was still a pretty fun competition. I remember running around and stuff.
Other non-park things from this trip…I remember we had a juicer in the condo and we went to the food store and Gram bought oranges so that she could have fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning. The fresh squeezed orange juice was probably the biggest hassle! She wanted to show Jenn and I how she could make it but didn’t account for how many we would need and then juice was a little bit everywhere. It was quite comical. My grandma also HAD to go see the Grand Floridian and take pictures in the lobby. Jenn and I got in a fight over where we wanted the picture taken so that was fun…

Scan0002

We also went to Downtown Disney (now Disney Springs) and HAD to get Ghirardelli’s! When we got our ice cream Gram didn’t want her own, she was only going to “taste” ours and she ended up having more than a taste! We made fun of her about it for a while (hence the name of the post). Around the time of this trip my cousins and I were going to make a Sue-tionary (dictionary of funny things my grandma said) and so I started a notebook at the beginning of the trip. I actually made a notebook out of cardboard and pieces of printer paper stapled in with some pockets for my stationary. If I still have it I’ll try to find it and add a picture.

 

Our Favorites:  MGM was always a family favorite and that was definitely one of them on this trip. Also, Nickelodeon Studios because of how fun it was.

Food: Hoop-Dee-Doo revue is awesome and I highly recommend it. It can be expensive but if you have the money budgeted, it’s worth it!

Haul: My favorite souvenir that I got this trip was most definitely my drawing book. It was a book that taught you to draw classic Disney characters and I have fond memories of drawing Mickey and Donald on the plane ride home and many times after. That was definitely one of the best souvenirs from this trip.

Another great souvenir is my Autograph book

wp-1492689563089
Our pin game was also strong this trip as my dad is always into commemorating and picking up special edition pins –

who can say no to the year 2000 pin?

our first time at all four parks!

another pin that says 2000 and MGM (which it no longer is)

Universal pin!

 

Nickelodeon pin – a park that doesn’t even exist anymore!

 

🙂

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

5 responses »

  1. Reenie says:

    Look at you, themeing your clothes even that early! Love you!

  2. […] if you already read my trip talk post this week, you know I was still looking for more pictures so I have an […]

  3. […] the month of November but I haven’t been back that month since. I’ve been in December, July, January, January again, October, and September. I will eventually get to go in the spring months […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

