In honor of National Pretzel Day and my BIRTHDAY I’m going to give my opinions on my favorite pretzels and favorite pretzel experiences.

img_20150426_143310

 

Philly Pretzel Factory gives away 1 free pretzel on National Pretzel Day (today) every year. Above was 2015 when my husband (fiance at the time) took me to look at houses and then we strolled around Lambertville for Shad Fest. We had a wonderful time and as we were getting ready to go to his parent’s house we were passing a Philly Pretzel Factory and I made him stop for my free pretzel! It’s the perfect birthday treat 🙂

 

Disney Pretzels. In addition to the standard Mickey head shaped pretzels that are all over Walt Disney World, I was able to try the above on my trip with Reenie in October 2015. At the Germany Pavilion in Epcot you can get a cheese taster to go with your beer or cider. The middle cheese had two pretzel thins (basically, that’s the only way to describe them) and they were pretty awesome. The real highlight of Disney’s pretzel scene though, is the jalapeno pretzel at the Animal Kingdom. Reenie and I got up pretty early to go to the park, especially after drinking around the world the day before, and by the time we had gone on about two rides I really needed a snack. We got in line at a snack cart and I found the most spectacular pretzel there is! It was so awesome and as I am writing this I am seriously craving one.wp-1488984614645.jpgThen when I went to Disney with my sister in 2016 and we stopped by Gaston’s Tavern to try this awesome pretzel stuffed with ham and cheese (and, of course, LeFou’s Brew)!!! It was everything I imagined it to be and more! My mouth is watering just thinking about it 😉

Restaurants. Leading up to today, my husband and I ate out at a few restaurants so that I could try different pretzel appetizers and talk about them! It was such a difficult job, but someone had to do it 😉 (okay, no one actually had to do it…)!

wp-image-1898003540jpg.jpgOur first trip was a local restaurant called The Continental Tavern. We love eating locally because we can walk into town from where we live and don’t feel as bad eating lots of food – which we love to do – since we would walk some of it off on the way home. We ate outside and it was a little chilly that night but they have heaters on the porch that kept it the perfect temperature. Our server told us it was nicer on the porch than it was inside! On their “Starters” portion of the menu is Fried Bavarian Pretzel with ConTav cheese dipping sauce. The fried pretzels are amazing! You receive three pretzels and a container of the cheese sauce (which is the same sauce that comes with their ConTav fries). The pretzels are crisp outside and so soft inside that they practically melt in your mouth. The dipping sauce is light with a mild flavor that compliments the pretzel without overpowering it. We gobbled them right up!

wp-image-1682243091jpg.jpg

Next on our list was a personal favorite, Applebee’s. This is one of our favorite places to get pretzels and beer cheese. In fact, it’s a staple when we come here because it’s so good. The pretzels are on their Appetizers menu as Brew Pub Pretzels + Beer Cheese Dip. The dip is made with Blue Moon and white cheddar which gives it an almost sweet taste. It’s also seasoned with salt and pepper, giving it a peppery taste. The four pretzels they bring you are again crisp on the outside and soft inside which make them perfect for dipping. They also come with a honey Dijon that is sweet, tangy, and mustardy (I’m not really a mustard person so trying this was a big deal for me and it was actually better than I had anticipated!). We, of course, devoured them since they have been an all time favorite for us basically since we started dating.

IMG_20170401_175428When I found out that Buffalo Wild Wings had a pretzel appetizer I was both surprised and excited! Naturally, I had to check them out as part of this challenge even though I had never actually ordered them there before (I know, it’s crazy, right?). We got to the restaurant and it was towards the bottom of the starters menu. It came with Queso and a choice of dipping sauce which I was particularly excited about since I am obsessed with parmesan garlic. It came with three soft pretzels which were delicious. Unlike the previous pretzels we’ve had they were not fried and did not come with the standard beer cheese dip which I liked because it’s nice to switch it up! The Queso was delicious – it had a peppery spicy taste and was almost smokey. I could definitely taste both the cheese and salsa mixed into it and loved the way it paired with the pretzel. The parmesan garlic sauce was amazing as well, but in a different way. I normally always get parmesan garlic on my wings because when I don’t I regret it. The straight sauce though is SO much spicier! I wasn’t prepared for it to actually be spicy. It has that cheesy parmesan taste but it also has the garlic which gets spicy in high quantities! Dom said “it’s very VERY garlicky” and I agree. It was spicy but still the best (I also had it on my wings)! Paired with the pretzels was different but a really really good different 🙂 Overall I really enjoyed these pretzels and would definitely recommend pairing with your favorite hot sauce at Buffalo Wild Wings or just enjoying the Queso which was also perfect (We also paired them with a beer and some basketball since we were here during Final Four and we sat in the bar area).

IMG_20170422_193205On a whim we headed up to Triumph Brewing Company in New Hope, PA (they also have a location in Princeton, NJ which we have been to as well) and by chance they had pretzels on the menu! I was so excited as I hadn’t even planned it that way so we, of course, had to try them 🙂 The house-made pretzels, listed on their appetizer menu, come with beer mustard and a white cheddar fondue and are sprinkled with sea salt. Upon trying the pretzels Dom immediately commented that they “taste like Auntie Anne’s”. After trying them, I agreed. The sea salt was sprinkled in the middle so the first bite was just pretzel and it was magnificent. It had a sweet, baked flavor that was just perfection. I also love the way they used sea salt instead of table salt because it was different and I like different. The white cheddar fondue was EVERYTHING. It reminded me of cheddar cheese soup but, of course, thicker. It was creamy and had a deep cheddar flavor and I loved dipping the pretzel. I did bring myself to try the beer mustard which was, well, mustardy. Needless to say, as a non-“mustard lover”, I hated it. I’m sure people who love mustard would love this but it was not my cup of tea. But this didn’t ruin the pretzel at all because there was plenty of love in the pretzel by itself and with the fondue to make up for the mustard. I definitely recommend it (but, of course, I recommend all pretzels, right? No, I do not, as you will soon see).

So, I didn’t make it to every restaurant everywhere with pretzels on the menu but I think I will continue my adventures and post an update each time because who doesn’t love a good pretzel read? The four pretzels I did try during this challenge were all delicious and I will most definitely be having them again in the future.

Know any other restaurants offering pretzels that I need to try? Comment below!

One other note – tomorrow I will be posting about some other non-restaurant pretzels I’ve tried leading up to today so check back again for that!

Go get your pretzel and celebrate with me! Post a pic of you with a pretzel today on Instagram and tag me @rogue_princess_ to be featured there and in my blog!

Happy National Pretzel Day and Happy Birthday to me!

❤ *JuLi*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

3 responses »

  1. […] yesterday was National Pretzel Day and I did a LOT of pretzel eating in preparation of it, I would be amiss to not include pretzel […]

  2. […] Braid with cheese fondue which, let’s be honest, will probably be what I choose because, pretzels. Maybe I can get them to throw in some homemade pickles with the pretzel. Then it would basically […]

  3. […] stop for a snack, such as the ham and cheese stuffed pretzel (which I’ve already discussed here) and since it’s one of my favorites and I’ll potentially be ‘bounding as Belle at […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

