I didn’t choose the dark side, the dark side chose me.

Okay, so I was never a Star Wars fan. I never saw the movies <gasp> and I only know the characters from media references, etc. I mean, no one in my family really is a Star Wars fan. I honestly can’t think of any of my extended family that’s a huge fan either. So it was never really a thing. 

At a con last year there was a shop that was doing 3D printing. They had the printer on display and I was admiring it because it was so freaking cool. They were making these Darth Vader / Buddha things and I was asking them questions and when I went to leave they gave me one. I was a little bit like “wait, what am I going to do with this?” But me + free stuff = love. So, yeah, I guess that is what tempted me to the dark side (free stuff).

I have now decided that I want to actually watch the movies, possibly because it’s May the 4th and I feel left out, possibly just to understand what the hype is about. Unfortunately, they aren’t on Netflix and I am not going to buy a movie I’ve never seen when pretty much all my friends probably own it. So who wants to lend them to me? I obviously want to start with the original trilogy (I know that much) so I’ll keep you all updated as I watch.

Also, shameless plug – my shop is now open and now through Monday you can get 10% off plus a bit of extra magic if you use code FOURTH10 🙂 thanks for your support!

May the fourth be with you.

img_20170123_210726_941

my Leia ‘bound in the winter

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

4 responses »

  1. Reenie says:

    I will send you my Amazon info, and you can watch the movies! I own all 8 digitally there. I recommend watching them in release order for a first time.

    • Juli says:

      Okay! Yeah, I looked at Amazon and they seemed a little expensive for a first-timer so I figured someone would have them lol

      • Reenie says:

        A couple of my DVDs went missing, (I’m guessing Scranton era lending of them is the culprit), and with a new movie out every year, I figured digital was the best way to replace them. From what I understand getting them streaming is complicated, as Fox still has a share of distribution rights, even though they’re owned by Disney now.

        Whatever, I’m excited that you’re going to watch them!

      • Juli says:

        Yes, I can feel your pain on lending things out but digital is easier now anyway…Dom and I try to download some for road trips, etc. I’m excited to watch them too lol hopefully Dom will watch with me. Seems like a good time, too, since regular season shows are ending and we haven’t decided what summer shows to watch yet

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

