I just got home from Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 and oh my gosh it was great! Everyone who had already seen it did say it was awesome so I sorry if expected that but just, wow.

Before I get into any of that though, I’ll talk about my outfit. I ‘bounded as Gamora to the theatre in an outfit I basically threw together yesterday. 

My black jeans are a basic go-to as they’re comfortable and (in my opinion) stylish. I’ve had this basic green shirt for longer than I can remember and never particularly showed it much love until I started ‘bounding and it has since grown to be a close friend. Then my favorite vest (yes, I worked at NY&Co when vests were super in (at least in my head) and owned at least five). I love this vest because it’s a halter and when I bought it I thought it was sexy. It works for Gamora because of the deep cut off her shirt. To accent the cut I wore a long necklace also from my days at NY&Co. Cuff bracelet, same thing (at one point almost my entire wardrobe was NY&Co so get used to it). I wore my star earrings to signify space and the galaxy and stuff (old clip ons that I made into actual earrings after I got my ears pierced and didn’t want to part with them). Stud ring from PacSun way back when. Studded bag was more recent but I’m having a difficult time remembering where I got it. And my favorite black boots (after the Fergie ones got destroyed I mean). Oh and a choker from a pack I got on Amazon for a HalloReenie accessory.

Anywho, I really wanted to ‘bound as Gamora and I wanted Dom to ‘bound with me but he couldn’t find the clothes I wanted him to wear (we think at his parents house) so he didn’t (story of my life). But I wanted him to ‘bound as Quill and his favorite character ended up being Drax anyway so maybe next time I’ll find him a Drax ‘bound in his closet.

So anyway! The movie! Spoilers below.

I. Loved. It.

It pulled at my heart in all the right places. Peter finally meeting his dad! His name aptly being Ego since he clearly had a big one since he wanted to basically be alone with it. I was bummed Ego turned out to be the bad guy. I really thought he would be sort of a stop on their journey until suspicions started arising (although Quill was suspicious before they left so I guess that should have been a sign). 

Loved the redemption for Nebula and Yondu. They became key players and their​ relationships with Gamora and Quill, respectively, really shaped the redemption of fathers being the enemy (quite literally). Also loved Yondu and Rocket’s friendship which seriously helped in Yondu’s redemption. I suppose the seemingly random encounter with Yondu and his old friends in the beginning was serious foreshadowing and I was extremely emotional at the end. So. Many. Emotions. Which leads me to Mantis. I’m really not sure what to make of her. She has an interesting role but she is just… Weird. And that’s saying a lot since the whole movie is weird. But hey, she sure helped out in the end so I’d be interested to see what they do with her character in the future. Will she get stronger? Will she have to help keep morale up? Who knows?

Her dynamic with Drax is very interesting though they clearly state they are by no means interested in each other. I like that they are both just so blatantly honest. It works and provides some serious comedic relief. Like I said, Drax is Dom’s favorite and it’s easy to see why. He laughs at everything and just says exactly what is on his mind (Dom also enjoyed the toilet humor). 

Now let’s talk about Baby Groot. Oh my gosh he stole everyone’s heart. Starting from the end of the first movie, Groot as a baby was just the cutest thing ever. And that was lucky since even the “bad guys” thought so. Dom’s favorite part was when Rocket and Yondu were trying to get him to get Yondu’s fin and he just kept bringing back ridiculous things. He most likely would never have come back with the right thing if it weren’t for Kraglin, who was also an interesting character (and lucky to have around).

Let’s talk about the “unspoken thing” because this is my favorite (I can’t resist a love interest story line). I love the way Gamora relaxes for a quick second while they dance. I love how the dancing is their little secret. I love how Mantis just straight up professes Peter’s love for Gamora. Gamora, rightly so, is slow to admit feelings after experiencing very little love throughout her youth. I think healing her relationship with Nebula even just a little is helping her move towards maybe being able to move forward with Quill. Quill, on the other hand, wears his heart on his sleeve, having experienced the unconditional love of his mother and really knowing and understanding the power of love. This is what helps him be able to fight his father as well.

Finally, the biggest thing to talk about is Peter’s rejection of immortality for love. On the way home, Dom and I got to talking and he said that he thought maybe Peter would have been able to overpower his father and still keep the powers and immortality and that would sort of be his thing. I reasoned that in order to be a great hero, one needs mortality in order to have sacrifice and risk. If you don’t risk anything, you’re not really as much a hero. He countered with the idea of Wolverine being basically immortal but Wolverine actually has a lot of weak times that don’t always show up in the movies. Where I am currently in the comics he is very weak and takes time to heal and while healing he also has to run and fight so there’s that. But anyway, I digress. I eventually made the connection that had been on the tip of my tongue which was Percy Jackson. At the end of the first series he is offered immortality but turns it down and then loses his invulnerability at the beginning of the second series and all because he embraces life mortal life – and with it, love. Mortality or death is what makes life worth living – there is not much adventure knowing life is without consequences. No risk, no reward. So the greatest risk in life is life. So now that it’s late and I’m getting philosophical I’ll just leave you with this quote from Hook: “To live would be an awfully big adventure”

❤️🎧📼

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

