IMG_20170517_191655Last night we went to see a local production of Clue On Stage for my mother-in-law’s birthday present. We bought her the tickets knowing Clue was one of her favorite movies (and ours too) and hoped that the live production would be just as good. It was.

If you’ve ever seen the movie Clue, you know that it has multiple endings (if you haven’t seen the movie or the play there will be spoilers). When the movie came out in theaters, guests would get an ending at random. This created mixed reviews and I don’t think it served it’s purpose which was to encourage audience members to go watch again, hoping they get a different ending.

Regardless, the at home version features all three endings using “this is what could have happened” and “but here’s what really happened” in between the scenes to distinguish. On my DVD you can choose to watch an ending at random or all three. I always choose all three because I like the “actual” ending the best and probably would be sad if it didn’t end that way (I know, I’m a child).

I was curious as to what ending the play would take on. Would they attempt all three? Would we know if they had different endings on different nights? The thing about Clue is that I probably would go see it again but that’s already having seen it tons of times. Well, the play did not disappoint.

At the beginning, Wadsworth told us to pay careful attention because you never know who the murderer is. I took these instructions to heart, and, being a huge Clue fan, figured out when different people were missing, etc. It also helped that I knew the underlying details such as who knew whom prior to attending the dinner. I feel the most obvious was when Mrs. Peacock was missing but then the rest were pretty low key. Whenever someone went off by themselves though, we knew there would be another murder.

What I loved about the on stage version is that there were differences which actually made it more like the board game – there was a reference to the cellar (“we will stack the bodies in the cellar…“), but no one actually went there. The same is true of the other floors of the house. The characters, true to the board game, remained in the Hall, Study, Lounge, Dining Room, Kitchen, Ball Room, Conservatory, Billiard Room, and Library (with most of the action taking place in the hall). Granted, there is only so much you can do on stage, but it was nice that they did that.

They also changed the character of Professor Plum to that of a theater professor, which I suppose was done for dramatic effect (there was a bit of silly dancing at parts) but I’m not sure that actually made much of a difference overall (he was still a creep). The play also explained (at the end) the reason Mr. Green didn’t do a better job of preventing any of the murders (“you’ve had that gun this whole time? And you didn’t prevent any of these murders?”) in that he was the only FBI agent who was a “dead ringer” for Mr. Green but his normal job is a desk job. He also remarked that he was glad he didn’t have even more bodies! It was true to the original that there was a ton of comedy and for that it was so enjoyable.

There were a few references to current events which I could have done without (even if it’s funny, it may not be the most appropriate place for it) and there were a LOT of over-exaggerated moments (Colonel Mustard being extremely slow, for one, Wadsworth taking a good ten minutes to die and shut up for another), but overall, I enjoyed myself.

I think the coolest part about the play that was not part of the movie was hands down the search for clues! Instead of searching the house for other people, like in the movie, the first Mr. Body sent them on a sort of scavenger hunt looking for “the blue boy in the middle of the sea (C)” and each clue lead to another to gather all the evidence against them. The way the clues were laid out, however, didn’t make the most sense since it would have been impossible for Mr. Body to have known which room a certain victim would end up in, etc. but it added such a great aspect to the show that it didn’t actually matter. There was one secret passageway in the stage show which I thought they did a great job of and it lead to that iconic moment in the film (“let us in, let us in!” “let us out, let us out!”) which they preformed extremely well. Also, Mrs. White still had flames coming out of the side of her face. That speech was executed really well also, even if it got maybe a little jumbled in the end. They also built up to that with an earlier scene where she was also talking about Yvette.

Such an awesome time! I recommend seeing Clue On Stage to any Clue lovers out there if it is at a nearby theatre. You won’t be disappointed!

IMG_20170517_193114In case any of you are wondering, I was initially going to closet cosplay Miss Scarlet but I couldn’t find the right outfit/it was way too hot out last night to wear what I thought I might. My second choice was to do a sort of detective closet cosplay but I couldn’t find my Sherlock Holmes hat (I’m still upset about this and it better show up by November or I may have to buy a new one) so I ended up in black and white, to which my husband asked if I was ‘bounding Yvette (he’s getting used to my ‘bounds). I decided to roll with it by ordering Yvette’s French Martini at the show and pretending the closet cosplay was on purpose…

And, in case you were interested in the drink menu…

IMG_20170517_191650

“Me too, I also drink ze cognac”

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

