As I mentioned last week, Reenie, Dom, and I are planning a trip to Disney this November. Dom and I don’t plan on spending exorbitant amounts of money, so I was going to skip most sit-down dinners. Now this might sound like blasphemy to many Disney lovers, but I have done a bit of upscale dining at Disney in the last two years and I feel that this is a trip where I can pick things up quickly and not feel like I have to spend my time at Be Our Guest, Jiko, Hollywood Brown Derby, Monsieur Paul’s, STK, etc. (And yes, I did eat at all of those in the past two years while at Disney in about as many days so I seriously need to cut back). I know there are a ton of amazing dining locations around Disney but if we grab quick service around the parks it will be quicker, easier, and more affordable and the food is usually at a very high standard.

We did, however, pick up ADRs for dinner at Le Cellier and brunch at Tusker House. Le Cellier is the one fancy meal we are allowing ourselves (we’ve never been there but are in love with the Canadian Cheddar Cheese soup! Oh, and steak ) and Tusker House is a part of the Rivers of Light dining package so that we are guaranteed a spot at the show, which we have not seen before. Tusker House is also a character meal, something I have not done since I was a child but find myself looking forward to for this trip! The Rivers of Light dining packages have not come out yet for our trip, but Reenie grabbed up the brunch reservation for us so we can switch it to the package when they become available.

Anyway, food is such a large part of going to Disney and I can’t wait to try things I haven’t  tried (ever or in a while)! I wanted to post about the food that is enticing me and where I want to eat while in the parks. There are so many quick/counter service restaurants in the Disney Parks that I cannot cover them all in one post. I will be taking the next few weeks to discuss each park in turn so stay tuned! Today I am going to look at Disney Springs for the options there.

Dom and I plan to arrive Thursday night and visit Disney Springs in the morning/early afternoon Friday before getting ready for the Christmas Party that night. This opens up a lot of options for lunch that I am very excited about!

 

AMC® Disney Springs 24 Dine-In Theatres – My thought is that perhaps if it is a rainy day we can try the Dine-In Theatre but otherwise I think it might be a waste. I’m not sure yet what would be showing but I’m pretty sure we could catch the same movies at home or when they come out on Bluray/DVD that I wouldn’t want to spend time at the movies if it is nice out or I could be exploring other things. The experience would be fun, but the food doesn’t look that special.

Amorette’s Patisserie – yes, I know this is a dessert shop BUT ever since Aristcrepes opened I have been wanting to try it out. Being a savory crepe lover (something that started during college at a Philly Cheese steak stand serving cheese steak CREPES!),

1923585_509886177158_4097_n

Philly cheese steak crepe.

I absolutely wanted to try the savory crepes offered at Aristocrepes. Sadly, it closed, then moved to a seasonal schedule, then reopened or something but the main gist of it is that the savory crepes have relocated to Amorette’s Patisserie and so this has become #1 on my list of food stops in Disney Springs (or Disney in general, I’m not sure). In particular, I am looking forward to trying the Caprese Crêpe, and I hope it remains on the menu through November so I get the chance to eat here.

B.B. Wolf’s Sausage Co. – Honestly, everything on this menu looks delicious and I think I will have a heck of a difficult time choosing something here. Being a pickle lover

pickles

pickles!

I may need to try the 3 Little Pigs Trio, Bratwurst and Cheese Spätzle, or Italian Sausage just to get the pickles. I really love gyros though and a Greek Dog sounds so interesting that it may catch my attention. There is also a Big Bad Dog which looks tasty but would probably be my last choice from this list, and the House-made Pretzel Braid with cheese fondue which, let’s be honest, will probably be what I choose because, pretzels. Maybe I can get them to throw in some homemade pickles with the pretzel. Then it would basically be the perfect snack.

Blaze Fast-Fire’d Pizza – pizza is another of my favorite foods so this is something I normally wouldn’t pass up, however, with all the other options out there that are semi-unique, I may pass this by.

Bongos Cuban Café™ Express – Cuban food is amazing and I think Dom may want to stop here and I wouldn’t complain if that were the case. There are tons of options and I would try many of the things here so this is another great option for us.

Chef Art Smith’s Homecomin’ – This is a sit down place and while it looks nice, we will probably pass. It also has a higher pricepoint than some of the others and Dom and I will probably rather snack on a bunch of different quick things than sit down for a meal so I’m guessing we’ll skip this. (Edit: after getting Reenie’s review of Homecomin’, we may need to try it out…)

Cookes of Dublin – again, this is a sit down quick service and while the menu price points are better, we may pass this by. But who knows? If we really need a place to sit and eat, this may be the option for us.

The Daily Poutine – yes. This is making my mouth water just thinking about poutine and the various options look so amazing and unique! The only thing that may stop us from stopping here is the possibility of having poutine on Sunday at Epcot.

D-Luxe Burger – Well, I really can’t say no to a burger. If we’re feeling hungry and this is in the area, I’m thinking it’s going to be a stop for us, but, again, only if we want to stop and sit for a bit as well.

Earl Of Sandwich® – Honestly, I have heard such great things about Earl of Sandwich that this may have to be our lunch stop. The menu just has everything I could want in a sandwich. The Veggie, Italian, and Holiday Turkey might be a huge toss up for me!

The Polite Pig – Well, I just looked at this menu and if nothing else, the Hop Salt Pretzel may need to happen. I’ve heard great things about The Polite Pig so we may need to stop here for more than just a pretzel. I suppose we’ll decide that when we get there.

The Smokehouse – also looks like a good place to stop if we’re in the mood for BBQ (which we often are) and the price point seems good for the type of food so this is another great option.

Wolfgang Puck® Express – This looks both delicious, and too heavy to eat on a day where we are most likely going to be trying a bunch of food and just playing it by ear and exploring. I’m pretty sure we will pass this one up but maybe we’ll see you in the future Wolfgang Puck!

YeSake – well, I thought I had my food figured out and that I’d probably get my Japanese food fix in Epcot but no, this is now being added to my list. I see an Udon Noodle bowl with either shrimp or chicken being added to my food from Disney Springs. This just looks like the perfect snack.

So, that puts my Disney Springs lunch at have to’s from: Amorette’s Patisserie, B.B. Wolf’s Sausage Co., Earl of Sandwich, and YeSake. My maybes include: The Daily Poutine, and The Polite Pig. Anything else is up in the air.

But wait, there’s more!

We plan on coming back to Springs for drinks and dessert one night and for that, I need to have some honorable mentions:

Amorette’s Patisserie – yes, again, but this time for actual dessert. Everything here looks super delicious and I may need to pick up something small for my sweet tooth.

20160909194617Ghirardelli® Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop – this is usually a MUST for me as I love Ghirardelli almost as much as Gram :’D and their specialty sundaes are to dye for! I would most likely choose to share something as Jenn and I did last trip and there was still too much.

Häagen-Dazs® – reasons I may pass this up: 1. Ghirardelli’s 2. this is not an experience that I cannot have at my local mall so I’m not sure it’s worth it while in Disney.

Joffrey’s Handcrafted Smoothies – It is not very often that I pass up a smoothie. In fact, I may need to get one while walking around on Friday and not even wait for Springs night for this one. That’s actually a good idea. Then I can enjoy even more sweets. Oh, I love the way I think!

Sprinkles – I have heard such fun about Sprinkles and it will probably be very difficult for me to decide if I want something from inside or if I want to experience the cupcake ATM. This may be a game day decision.

 

SO! Hope you like my deliberating! Let me know – is there anywhere at Disney Springs you recommend I try? What’s your favorite food/drink/sweet at Disney Springs? What else should we do at Disney Springs? And, definitely let me know if you disagree with my decisions and why! I don’t want to spend time trying foods that aren’t good!

❤ Juli

 

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

One response »

  1. […] I’m continuing to talk about food and next on the list is the Magic Kingdom (go big or go home, right?)! We are at Magic Kingdom […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

