Dear high school gym teachers,

You were right. It turns out I can  run a mile in under 15 minutes.

There, I said it. It’s out there for all to see and I’m not even mad. I’m actually happy to have proved my teenage self wrong. It turns out I don’t hate running (read: jogging) at all. I hate running on a track, yes. I hate running on a treadmill, definitely. But I enjoy (dare I say  love?) running outside. This newfound adventure is thanks to a few special ladies that it would be a crime not to mention.

It’s thanks to my sister, Jenn, for always being a running inspiration, and even though we haven’t run together in a few years due to not living together, it always meant so much to me that you would run along side me and keep me motivated by telling me I  could  do it. That meant a ton. Thanks also to my mom, my long time walking/jogging partner who kept me company as I struggled and kept me motivated when we both wanted to slow down.

Thank you to Juby, who always hit the gym in college and always invited me even if I said no. You are also a huge inspiration. Thank you to Beth who always asks if I’m running even though I (used to be) (am) a self-professed running hater. It sort of in a twisted way made me realize that maybe I could do it. Thanks to Kristi, who posts the most epic exercise blog posts and even though she doesn’t normally do straight up running, still killed the runDisney princess races this year.

A huge thanks ESPECIALLY to both Reenie and Roble! Reenie always inspires me to run and makes it look so freaking fun that I finally signed up for some 5k races with her (more about that at a later date)! Roble was so supportive when I told her about said races that she up and printed me out a 5k training schedule and talked to me seriously about what to expect (she seems to find a 5k pretty much every weekend)!

So I am filed with gratitude towards so many people, even if they have no idea they have inspired me. In addition, I’m grateful to the bloggers who post about exercise and their personal struggles with it because, I hear you all loud and clear.

I started out this post thanking my gym teachers because even though I played three seasons of (JV) sports most of high school, I  always  struggled with running the mile for the mandated testing. Running was just never my thing, but I will tell you, I just went 1.5 miles at a pace of 12:40 minutes/mile (a little over 19 minutes). Since this is really my first record of it, I’m counting it as a personal record. If I can keep that pace for my 5k, I’ll accomplish something I never thought I would – and that’s running (jogging) an entire 5k without slowing to a walk. And I never thought I’d say this, but…

I can’t wait.

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

