Sorry I can’t come up with a more creative name for this blog post but after reading Reenie’s post yesterday, I felt inspired to talk about my love for Wonder Woman and it’s roots.

IMG_20170602_081824

I should start by saying that as a child, I didn’t really get into superheros all that much. I mean, my cousin Alan was obsessed with Superman and I remember summers of running around the beach with our towels tied around our shoulders as capes but his influence was probably the most superhero I was exposed to back then.

My biggest transition came in college where I embraced my inner superhero. Well, no, it probably actually started before that when I was a middle-schooler whose best friend’s parents took us to see X-Men because X-Men became a BIG part of my inner superhero (read: nerd). But the transition was there, beyond the walls of the University of Scranton, mostly in Madison A, during my sophomore year. My freshmen year was filled with a lot of it’s own transitions but my sophomore year was truly spent learning who I was and who my real friends were and getting to know some awesome people (and playing a lot of Magic: The Gathering). The friendships I cultivated that year led me to many more nerd-related futures (all my sophomore year friendships actually led me to my friendship with Reenie, also, which needs to be noted as a large part of the transition as well 😉 )

IMG_20170602_080237
In the midst of all of this, I began to appreciate Wonder Woman. I believe it was after college that I bought my Wonder Woman shirt (quite possibly the best shirt I own) which sort of instills confidence in me when I wear it. It’s quite special. Back in my days of Six Flags season passes I got more into DC. In the lines of most of the superhero rides, there are comic boards placed that tell a story and I started to fall in love with reading them and that might be how I got into reading comics as well. But this shirt, it just gives me the confidence to believe I can be a Wonder Woman and helps me to identify with her.

maxresdefault

Wonder Woman is an Amazon. She is both a warrior and a princess (cue “The Warrior” being stuck in my head the rest of the day 🙂 ). As a brunette who sometimes feels too large (it’s my thighs, really), I started to embrace my insecurities by thinking about how Wonder Woman is literally an Amazon – larger than life in lots of ways. If she can have thunder thighs, so can I. In fact, it may have been around that time that I started to embrace my large thighs and not worry about them as much. Anyway, I liked the idea of myself as a superhero, princess, and warrior, and I started to get into Wonder Woman a lot more.

For Reenie’s superhero birthday I was supposed to go as Wonder Woman but then Hurricane Sandy happened and it was rescheduled to the night before my Comps Exam and I couldn’t go 😦

Instead, I was planning on revamping the costume from that night for ACBC last year. That didn’t really work out the way I wanted either BUT it inspired my favorite closet cosplay I have which I, in turn, revamped today for when I finally get to see the new movie!

IMG_20160513_101602341

ACBC then gave me even more to love about her with the panel we sat in and the Wonder Woman museum, and everything Wonder Woman everything that year 😉 (also, my Wonder Woman purse)

Anyway, I have a ton of love for Wonder Woman, I hope this movie is everything I want and more, I am suddenly really wanting to renew my Six Flags pass since I’ve heard they might have more Wonder Woman-y stuff this summer (is this just a rumor??), I’m going to be Wonder Woman when I grow up, and oh yeah, did I mention Wonder Woman had a huge role in this blog? See my second ever post that helped to frame this blog, take a look at my cover photo, and then look at this post from last year that actually kick-started this blog after it lay dormant for almost 4 years. They all have a common denominator: Wonder Woman ❤

 

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

