Warning! Wonder Woman Spoilers Ahead!

After viewing the new Wonder Woman movie last night at around 1am I jotted down some quick first impressions on the movie so I could share them here:

  1. Amazons are awesome
  2. Wait, why are they British?
  3. Didn’t Stryker die already?
  4. Wait, this isn’t X-Men?
  5. Oh my gosh Diana is kick a$s!
  6. Why did Steve have to die?
  7. At least she has a picture?

I then spent the 15 minute car ride home summarizing the first half of the movie to my husband who slept through it (yes, I had to elbow him for snoring. Yes, he woke up in time for the epic walk across no man’s land (aptly named since a woman had to be the one to cross it)). So there’s that. I suppose it’s my fault since I bought tickets to a showing I knew wouldn’t be over until 12:30 at least, but it was the theatre with the best seats (yes, our theatre has reserved seating)! It probably also didn’t help that the chairs recline so it’s basically like you’re sitting in your living room. Which is probably why I felt so comfortable laughing out loud as if I were in my living room. I regret nothing.

Ready for the movie!!

So there were some funny parts, epic battle scenes, and even a bit of romance which put together made a great flashback to the beginnings of Wonder Woman. 

I obviously fell in love with the Amazons at the beginning of the movie. Amazons are just so amazing and I absolutely love the community, the sisterhood, the bad @$$ warriors that they are, everything!

I thought it was strange that the main characters were from London since Wonder Woman was primarily created to be a heroine for the US, but she’s changed a lot over the years (obviously) or maybe I just don’t know as much about her as I thought I did.

The main bad guy who they set out to stop (and kill) is Stryker. Okay, his name is not Stryker in this film, it’s Ludendorff, but seriously – experimenting with scientific medicines/poisons, involvement in the war, basic all-around bad guy – this is basically Stryker reincarnated and that’s all I could think of any time Danny Huston was on screen. Okay, maybe I’m just a little too obsessed with Wolverine, but still. It’s Stryker, guys, and he’s up to more of his terrible controlling/killing games basically.

I mean, come on, the only difference is the country he’s “fighting” for…

Then there’s the scene. You know the one. The one my husband actually woke up for, the climax of the movie, Diana saving a village by walking across a field so epically that this is basically the scene the movie was based around. They were like, “what can we do to make this film so epic?” And then they had Diana walk across a battlefield just brushing away bullets and all the men cowering in fear. One thing I absolutely love about the Amazons is that since they are a matriarchal society of all women, it is just second nature that women should be regarded as equals to (or, really, higher than) men. Diana does her own thing regardless of what she’s told. She’s grown up in a society where social norms are so different she can’t imagine them any other way and that’s what’s so important about this kick @$$ woman – she is what all women should be: confident, certain, independent, and highly regarded as an equal (or, actually, greater than). She doesn’t care what anyone thinks because she knows her truth 

and fights for what she believes is right. It’s so fitting, then, that Ares is not at all who she believes him to be and is, in fact, a manipulator who appears nonthreatening. This has just so many parallels to the devil and good verses evil that it would probably be a whole other post about that, but ultimately, Diana has what Ares doesn’t – Love – which leads to his ultimate defeat.

Speaking of love, why, oh why did Steve have to die?? I mean, I know why, self sacrifice is the ultimate redemption of a character that felt guilty for the choices he made and then of course the power of love giving Diana the strength to defeat Ares, yadda yadda yadda… But, why did he have to die?? I’m just personally saddened by it and I’m not sure a photo would make up for it but I get that this is like years and years later and the wounds have basically healed already but can they really heal? It’s just a sad memory of the turning point in her life and I get that but where does it go from here? Will there be a sequel? Other love interests? I guess we’ll have to wait to find out. I mean, it’s not like she can go back home (in fact, we know she doesn’t) even though her initial mission is complete.

Well there’s my ramblings on the movie. Go see it if you haven’t already, although why you would read this before seeing the movie is beyond me.

❤ JuLi

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

3 responses »

  1. Reenie says:

    Steve’s death really got to me. It was beautiful. Narratively, I like the idea that he had to die to redeem himself, but logistically, I think it’s because Chris Pine doesn’t want to be tied down to 2 franchises. (He is still Captain Kirk after all…) Still, it was a great moment.

    The fact that in the end, Diana was fighting for love DESTROYED me, since I’d just written all about how the fact that she fights for love is my favorite thing about her.

    That walk across No Man’s Land was so incredible. I’m glad you liked the movie!

    And the Amazon’s accents were supposed to be Israeli, Gal Gadot explained it was because she has trouble with other accents so Patty Jenkins suggesting everyone else just adopt hers so that it was uniform.

    • Juli says:

      Oh I meant that the war and Steve and everything is British, not the Amazons! I did hear something about the Israeli accents from someone at work.

  2. […] to it. There were just so many other movies out that I had to see first (Beauty and the Beast, Wonder Woman, Guardians of the Galaxy 2, Moana, Finding Dory, Cars 3, Fantastic Beasts) that I’ve decided […]

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

