Today is National Running Day and even though I am between run days (my 5K training schedule has me run Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays with the option to walk, run, or rest on the other days), I decided I needed to get out there and run a bit.

Since the blacktop is my nemesis, I decided to stick to the dirt and gravel today. That meant not running quite as far as yesterday but since it was an in-between day I didn’t have any requirements for myself.

Yesterday’s run (my longest so far) was done in the slight drizzly rain in the morning because I knew I would not have time after work and last week’s treadmill run was below par (the treadmill is my other nemesis) so I didn’t want to run on my lunch break. Since I felt good about my run yesterday, I decided to do a watered-down version of it today (aka a much shorter run).

Thanks to yesterday’s Weight Watchers meeting, I have been inspired to begin my vision board for this summer and the first thing going up there is a picture of my running shoes and accessories. Having the right tools is the best way to kick-off a summer workout and my essentials included my sneakers (obviously), a new fanny-pack-esque phone holder so I no longer have to wear my track jacket in order to have pockets, new headphones since my old ones were literally falling apart, and the Runkeeper App.

When I started training for the runDisney 5Ks I am completing this summer I quickly realized that I had very little running gear. Aside from my sneakers (which were a gift from my mom), I had little to no adequate equipment. I had the same headphones from the early days of college which were in terrible shape but I used them because they were better for running then the big bulky ones I use for leisure. I had nowhere to put my phone, however, since most of my work-out clothes do not have pockets and my workouts for the past seven years have either been at the gym or with my mom where we talked most of the walk so there was no need for music or anything like that. The best fix I had for this was running in my track jacket with my phone and keys in my pockets. This quickly became quite a hassle because it would bounce around and not really work out – plus, I was sweating from the run and from the long sleeves – this needed to end. And now that I mention the bouncing, my sports bras were all so old the elastic was pretty worn out and they were just not good at all for frequent movement (or anything actually requiring a sports bra).

So I set out to remedy this. I found a phone holder at Walmart, new headphones at FYE, and am slowly but surely purchasing new sports bras as I find good ones (right now I’m doing a lot of laundering of the good ones). This made my workouts this week much smoother than the previous week.

This is going to be shocking: I classified my run tonight as a “fun run”.

I’m not sure I’ve ever classified running as fun in my life, but tonight, that’s exactly what I did. I decided to run for just 5 minutes, listen to the voice on my app tell me how I was doing, turn around and run back 5 minutes. I was actually in shock that I ended up exactly where I started which meant I actually kept a pace. My run was only 0.91 mi but I seriously feel like I’ve accomplished something. I’ve now been training myself to run (short distances, mind you) for two weeks now and I’m already father than I was when I started.

There’s a quote they used to always say at my Weight Watchers meetings, “if I quit now, I’d soon be back where I started, and when I started, I was dying to get to where I am now.” I think this just fully recognises progress, even the smallest bit of progress, and it keeps me motivated to see where I’ll be tomorrow! So whether your goal is weight loss, getting in shape, running, or any other goal, join me in celebrating progress today 🎉
Soundtrack: 80’s Cardio Pandora

  • Flashdance…What A Feeling – Irene Cara
  • We Are The Champions – Queen
  • Jump! – Van Halen
About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

