img1498235868597

Today was my first ever runDisney race and it was a part of the Virtual Running Shorts Series! This summer’s races are centered around Pluto and place an emphasis on running with your dog. I don’t have a dog but I know people who do! There were also one or two dogs out for a walk where we were running so we made sure to say “hi”!

The series is three 5K runs – one in each month of June, July, and August – and you can do them from anywhere! I signed up for all three and so did Reenie and we decided we would run them together. For June, Reenie came down to Yardley to run it with me on the canal path. She arrived last night and I prepared a pasta dinner for us (with help from my wonderful husband who makes a mean red sauce…I mean…gravy…) and some garlic bread, heavy on the carbs!

We probably didn’t need to carbo-load for a 5K, but it was part of the fun, this being my first race I’ve ever actually taken seriously (I’ve done 5Ks in the past for charity stuff or fun with friends and family like a mud runย and a color run(walk) but I’ve never run an entire 5K without slowing to a walk at some point and I don’t think I’ve ever done it for a time. My goal was to run the entire thing).

 

 

I’ve been training my body to run for the past month now and I was just about ready. I also got us some super awesome t-shirts to rep our race. I don’t know what made me kick start this running thing aside from the fact that I saw Reenie and Kristi do their runDisney runs this past winter and I finally realized that running could be fun. Since doing a race in Disney is out for the time being (at least for a few years), the virtual races seemed like a great option to do on my own while also having or making a bit of that Disney magic.

We woke up to a flash flood warning but the weather man promised it would stop by 9am. We wanted to get started at 8:30 and by then the rain had stopped so we made our way to the park to begin our 5K!

At first I tried to keep pace with Reenie but since she is more of an interval runner and I like to keep a steady pace throughout, I quickly realized that was not going to work. We passed each other back and forth throughout which was fun. I enjoyed running with someone for a change and felt like I was doing pretty well.

I impressed myself with a time of 35:48! I was sort of hoping I wouldn’t do as well for my first race because that just means the next two needed to be faster! I need to beat myself!!!

Anyway, we had a blast and were successful in doing so!

Sweaty and squinty eyed! The sun came out ๐Ÿ˜Ž

 

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

2 responses »

  1. sophieruns says:

    This is great, well done! ๐Ÿ˜

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

