Here’s where I talk about what looks good to eat at Animal Kingdom. I’m looking forward to AK, especially since Pandora opened and a lot of the options there just look awesome. Our breakfast reservations are here as well so I will talk a bit about that towards the end. Here are some options for lunch and/or dinner:

  • Drinkwallah – not a lot of offerings but the Cinnamon-Glazed nuts look like a wonderful snack 🙂
  • Eight Spoon Café – oh my goodness – three different kinds of baked mac & cheese! I can’t decide if I would want it with pulled pork or shrimp. Dom would be more likely to share it with pulled pork but the shrimp one sounds so interesting…it will have to be a game-time decision.
  • Flame Tree Barbecue – two words: jalapeno cornbread. These dishes just look so yummy! I can’t get enough of the BBQ but that Watermelon Salad looks so refreshing and delicious as well! The salad doesn’t come with the cornbread though. That may be a deal breaker.
  • Harambe Fruit Market – the perfect stop for a small snack! They have lots of good items to get us refueled and ready to go. I may be mistaken, but I believe this is where they used to sell the jalapeno cheddar pretzel as well.
  • Harambe Market – the market has a bunch of great options. I would love to try a few – all look new and exciting and I love trying new and different foods. This is a great stop since going away is all about trying new things.
  • Kusafiri Coffee Shop & Bakery – At first look I saw “coffee shop” and thought “nah”. Then I looked again and saw the amazing looking selections of the bakery. Aside from the breakfast foods of pastries and the like, those paninis sure caught my eye! I love a good panini and they all look perfect
  • Mahindi – popcorn and nuts – more great snack options!
  • Nomad Lounge – enjoy a drink and some freaking awesome appetizers! This would be the perfect place to get out of the heat and enjoy a bite.
  • Pizzafari – by now you know that I’m not one to go for the pizza options as much since I can get amazing pizza at home (plus I make my own) BUT the Shrimp Flatbread might be an exception to this. I’ve never even heard of anything like it before! It sounds so good.
  • Pongu Pongu – I know this isn’t actually food, but I most definitely want to try the Night Blossom while in Pandora! It’s like a new right of passage, right?
  • Restaurantosaurus – sounds like a pretty typical burger place but that name may just make me stop for some Chili-Cheese Fries 🙂
  • Satu’li Canteen – this seems like the new place to try now that Pandora is open! I would love to try the Cheeseburger Steamed Pods, but if the wait is too long I would be okay going elsewhere. As much as I want to try the new food, I’m worried about crowds all over Pandora. Hopefully it will die down a bit by November but probably not so much.
  • Terra Treats – I read the description and menu here and was like “ooo!” haha Reenie and Kristi can vouch that I won’t turn down buffalo wings 🙂 I also like hummus though!
  • Trilo-Bites – buffalo chicken chips?! I’m all about grabbing them and a shake and going on my way! Sounds like the perfect snack to me.
  • Yak & Yeti™ Local Food Cafes525I believe this is where Reenie and I ate at Animal Kingdom in 2015 and we did enjoy it. Looking at the menu now though, I’m not sure what I got is still there? Either way this would be a nice place to pick up a quick meal. Since we’ve already been here, however, I’d rather try new options.

Now for the desserts!

  • Anandapur Ice Cream Truck – Ice cream! Not a huge selection, but they’ve got floats 🙂
  • Dino-Bite Snacks – more ice cream! And churros.
  • Tamu Tamu – Here is the other place you can get a Dole Whip (but with or without alcohol). Also, chocolate waffles.
  • Thirsty River Bar & Trek Snacks – aside from drink options, these snacks are awesome. I added this as a dessert option instead of a regular snack option because Frozen Banana. I’m all about the frozen banana.

We have a 10:45 am reservation at Donald’s Dining Safari Breakfast at Tusker House on our last day in the parks this upcoming trip. As I said in an earlier post, I am really looking forward to dining with Donald since this will actually be my first time meeting him! This will be my first character meal since I was a child (I was 12) and I’m really looking forward to it! We initially decided on this so that we could book the Rivers of Light dining package but I actually getting excited about it even though I was hesitant at first. I especially love the safari theme since I’ll take any excuse to pull out mine and Dom’s safari-style hats img1497889257588from our honeymoon. But, we are talking about food and the buffet for this looks awesome! I always get nervous about breakfast buffets since I don’t eat eggs, but I see a Spiced Corn Beef Hash with Cornbread Topping that I would love, ham, biscuits, and croissants that all could be great options for me! I’m getting my safari gear ready (but that’s a post for another day) for this dining treat and can’t wait!

So there are plenty of options at the Animal Kingdom for great food! Since Reenie and I only spent a half day here in 2015 and opted for some out-of-park reservations at Jiko, I’m excited to explore the other options available to us in-park for eating.

Is there anything I missed? What food options to you recommend in Animal Kingdom? Let me know in the comments!

 

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

2 responses »

  1. Reenie says:

    I’m so excited for this entire trip, and I’m really excited about Animal Kingdom. Satu’li has online ordering so we can even put our order in and go do something else if the lines are too long!

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

