I’m finding myself overly restless this week, most likely due to the fact that I have a double vacation coming up next week and I have a lot to do in terms of packing but I already feel pretty prepared.

I’m trying to get all I can get done at work so my vacation won’t put me too behind but I’m restless when I’m there because I want to be home packing and making decisions on what comes where, etc. Then I’m restless at home because I’m trying to pinpoint what to do first and get too much done in too little time.

On Sunday, Dom and I spent a few hours on the phone with the Ways and Kaminskis planning out what everyone is bringing for the houseboat. It was a LOOONNGG conversation about a long list of stuff but it, thankfully, made my normal packing list way easier to make. I already knew I’d be packing quite minimally for this trip since I plan on being in my bathing suit the majority of the time and then just a t-shirt and shorts or sweats for the evenings. We also set themes for each day so there’s that. It means a bit more packing on our end but since we’re not really going out and buying anything it’s not an expense. The biggest thing is food. We split up the who is buying what down to the smallest details and now it’s just going to be up to Dom and myself to decide what can be bought when. Since this is the second of our two vacations in a row, we need to wait on bread and stuff for the day in-between. Other than that we plan on a Costco run for Saturday.

The first of our two vacations in a row starts on Sunday when we drive up to Cape Cod. I’m actually way less prepared for this vacation because (1) I’ve never been to Cape Cod, (2) I don’t know what we are going to do once we get there since there is probably a ton of fun stuff around, and (3) we haven’t really talked about it with the group we are going with at all except to figure out that we will need way less in terms of stuff so my main packing priority is clothes and toiletries. Now that I’ve started to look online to see what is in the area that we may want to check out though, I’ve realized there’s more than just the beach and there’s SO MUCH to do there. I’m also now thinking we may want to bring bikes. We probably wont, but I was looking at bike trails, etc that makes me want to. I’ll have to talk to Dom tonight. So anyway, this fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants sort of outlook to vacation is making it insanely difficult to pack. I hate over-packing and I feel like that is what I’m going to end up doing.

My other struggle is deciding how to designate what is going on both trips and figuring out an easy way to pack so I can do that. Luckily, we have Saturday to really get the bulk of our shopping and packing done and I can probably get things set then that I wont have to worry about later. Next Thursday is going to be the crazy day, coming back to Dom’s parent’s house, finishing last minute food shopping, prepping two meals for the boat, and packing the car, but I know we’ll be able to get it done. Then it’s bright and early Friday morning, pick up the Kaminskis and we’re on our way (to meet the Ways :’,D).

We are also attending a wedding on Friday that I hadn’t really thought about and thank goodness I hung out with Laureen last week and we went shopping because I wouldn’t have even thought about what I was wearing before that. Now I have two options – one I just bought, and one is a bridesmaid dress I had shortened and wore to my cousin’s wedding but there aren’t a ton of pictures so no one’s seen it (shortened, anyway). I also have to do my nails which I’ll probably designate Friday morning to after a run, shower, and possibly a bath.

That’s all for now, I’m busy doing laundry and packing tonight and then we’re going out with Dom’s co-workers!

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Write Here If You Are Awesome ;-)

